## KOOGNAASEWIN CHILD WELL-BEING LAW WORKING GROUP & **TECHNICAL COMMITTEE**

North Shore First Nations' community representatives were designated to undertake the development of an independent Child Well-Being Law.

- The primary goal of the Working Group is to consider evolving legislation (C92), structures and relationships in Child Welfare parallel and in relation to the traditional customary Anishinabe beliefs and worldviews.
- The secondary goal of the Working Group is to develop a child welfare law in partnership with North Shore First Nation Communities.
- The third overarching goal is to work together to harmonize understanding of child welfare within communities, develop positive and lasting ways forward and create respectful and inclusive engagement. The Terms of Reference approved for the Working Group also includes the creation of a Technical Committee:
- A technical level committee was established to provide assistance and support to the Child Welfare Law Development process and to the Working Group. The technical committee includes representatives from the seven individual First Nations, Nogdawindamin, Niigaaniin and North Shore Tribal Council. The Technical Committee endeavours to facilitate a collaborative, cooperative and silo-busting approach to inform the Child Welfare Law Development and implementation requirements.

## MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP & TECHNICAL COMMITTEE



Technical Committee Member: Rachel Pattinson, Family Advocacy Manager Working Group Member: To be determined



Technical Committee Members: Brenda Rivers, Director of Governance Violet Boissoneau, Community Development Special Project Coordinator Working Group Member: Carol Eshkogan, Councillor



Technical Committee Member: Holly Johnston, Child Well-Being Supervisor/Band Representative Working Group Member: Chief Brent Bissaillion



Technical Committee Members: Brent Niganobe, Band Representative Amanda Sayers, Naakinagewin Coordinator Working Group: To be determined



Technical Committee Members: Cody Simon, Prevention Services Coordinator Working Group Member: Brandy Ferneyhough, Director of Health and Services



Technical Committee Members: Kaitlyn Neveu, Team Lead Supervisor Stephanie Boyer, Family Wellness Manager Natalie Atkinson, Chief Operating Officer Working Group Member: Chief Dean Sayers



Technical Committee Member: Luanne Povey, Child and Family Services Manager Working Group Member: To be determined



Working Group Member: Angus Toulouse, CEO of North Shore Tribal Council Elder: Emma Meawasige

**NIIGAANIIN** Working Group Member: Elizabeth Richer, Director of Niigaaniin Services



Technical Committee Member: Karen Kennedy, Senior Director of Services Working Group Member: Kerry Francis, CEO of Nogdawindamin